• A doctor reviews the COVID-19 detection results of her patient's chest X-ray
  • No GRE
  • Man using VR headset
  • Computing COVID 19 - image of Shashi Shekhar with cell phone
  • Photo of robotics students

About icon About

CS&E has 59 faculty members who provide leadership and expertise to our 1600 undergraduate majors, and over 450 graduate students.

Our faculty members are highly productive educators and researchers. They are international leaders in their respective fields and authors of widely used software and textbooks. The distinction of our faculty locally and worldwide is confirmed by their long list of awards and honors in research and teaching.

Highlights iconHighlights

Knights, Gohl and Beckman are the inventors behind CoreBiome, a University startup launched in 2017 that analyzes communities of microbes for human health, agricultural and environmental applications.

The Computer Science & Engineering virtual front desk is now available via Zoom. To “stop by” the front desk, go to z.umn.edu/csvirtualdesk.

The desk will be staffed from 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.... Read more »

Welcome to fall semester 2020 at the University of Minnesota!

The latest information about the adjusted fall 2020 semester plans can be found on the University's COVID-19 Updates site. Resources for... Read more »

News iconNews


As the United States still struggles to achieve adequate testing for the novel coronavirus, researchers are finding that medical imaging could provide an alternative and easily accessible means of diagnosis. A University of Minnesota team is leveraging artificial intelligence to speed up that...

Read more »
Jonathan Olaleye

The University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering (CSE) announced today a four-year collaboration with Minneapolis-headquartered digital payment solution Sezzle that includes a $124,000 donation from Sezzle to fund a full, four-year scholarship to a deserving CSE undergraduate...

Read more »

CS&E associate professor Dan Keefe is working to create visualization tools that blend the languages of science and art.

His work was recently spotlighted in an...

Read more »

Regents Professor and William Norris Endowed Chair Vipin Kumar is part of a project team, spearheaded by the University of Illinois, that has been awarded $4.5 million from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Research...

Read more »